Wk 5: Artist Interview

11005915_10205181413646238_821730032_n (1) 11009066_10205181413806242_2059544518_n 11004080_10205181413726240_1428578614_n 10967833_10205181413846243_1556280300_n

I chose to do my artist interview of the week on the exhibit called Flux. The artist was kind and friendly in answering all our questions we had for her. The artist of the exhibit is Dianna Franco and she shares how she’s a senior undergraduate Painting Bachelors of Fine Arts student. She looked young so I thought it was pretty amazing that even as an undergrad she was able to paint an entire exhibit that had so much meaning and depth behind it all. Her paintings definitely caught my eye when I entered the gallery and I was mesmerized by the blending and choices of colors she used together. I admit at first, I didn’t really understand the meaning behind her work but luckily she shared her artist statement with us. The name choice of her exhibit was rather interesting to me at first. I liked the name for it was simple but also complex. Flux is described as the flow of energy, constant change. 

Her paintings share a story and a relationship of the constant battle between nature and civilization. I’ve heard of this topic before from other artists but what made Dianna’s so much more interesting to me was that she based this struggle between the two from “micro to macro level in psychology and science”. I thought that was really inspiring because I never looked at art through such a large gap of sizes. Also the other thing was the fact that she saw inspiration with her paintings from the levels of other subjects like psychology and science. Dianna shares her inspiration with us on where she got the idea for the exhibit. She says “I am inspired by how nature and civilizations are always in flux with each other” and from then on, describes more detail into it. She says that in her exhibit, these paintings shows the exploration she did with the inner parts in nature and how civilizations can affect the outside. Furthermore, she did the vice versa is that she also looked deeper into how the outer parts of civilization areas can affect the inside. 

Following through all that, I asked about the colors she used for the paintings as that was what captured my attention in the first place. I wanted to know if she picked the colors by random or if they had a certain specific reason or meaning to it. She shares that she used neutral and saturated colors for the inner and outer parts. Then she used thick and thin paint for the varieties of weight found in nature and civilizations. I could really notice some of the paint was thicker than the rest of the painting with the obvious texture of it. I really liked how some of the paintings had different color contrasts as with really bright colors with more neutral colors blended in. I then realized that with this exhibit, I interpreted as how nature and civilization worked with one another and were constantly changing. Therefore, her paintings show just that as they are intertwined and look as if it’s all in a flow. Nature is constantly changing around us and adapting to us humans taking over. Civilization is also changing as well in that we are constantly growing and expanding as well as learning to adapt in better more efficient ways. With Dianna’s paintings, to me they reflect just that. The texture of the paintings represent the thinness and thickness between the two conjoining variables. I also really liked how well she blended in the colors for the painting that was all shades of blue was really one of my favorites by her. I am very inspired in how Dianna took the meaning of her exhibit to a whole new level and it really changed my perspective as well as showing me another side to art. I am grateful to have gotten to view her work including all the other talented artists with their exhibits at the gallery. #gatov-west

Leave a Reply

