Wk 5: Activity

For the activity this week in Art 110, we explored the world of Kickstarter. Kickstarter is “a global crowdfunding platform based in the United States. The company’s stated mission is to help bring creative projects to life”. I only heard snippets about this website and company but never really knew what it is that they do or the purpose of it. Therefore, I thought it was a great opportunity to check it out especially since our activity this week was to check out different projects. We have to choose categories that we are interested in and view what projects people have put out there. My two categories were: dance and food!

When I checked out the Discover page for Kickstarter and saw the Dance category, I knew for a fact that this would be a category I would be interested in looking through. I found many different projects and all diverse from one another. Every project had a purpose and meaning behind it as well as the amount pledged to each project. I thought this was really cool as it was a way to see your projects come to life thanks to the donations and help of people all over the Internet.

One project that I came across and immediately liked would be Hogwarts: The Ballet Based on Harry Potter’s Famous Stories. The title first of all was what captured my attention. I love to dance and I started taking ballet ever since I was a little girl at the age of 6. Therefore, this project was something I would consider funding as their purpose and goal would be to “give young dancers an unforgettable experience, give the community the opportunity to get involved. Bring art, culture to our neighborhood”. I believe that dance is a great way to bring culture to people as well as giving these young children something to look forward to and create great memories from, while also learning how to do ballet. This project captured my attention and I love what the people are standing for and trying to raise money for. This is a great project that I would definitely consider to help out and fund.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1293869989/hogwarts-the-ballet-based-on-harry-potters-famous/widget/video.html

A dance project that I really didn’t like or didn’t connect with would have to be The Trees of Govalle- Forklift Danceworks. I didn’t really understand what it is that their project was.The dance team showcases their new choreography under this beautiful pecan tree that is over 100 years old. They hope to create awareness about their urban forests as well as educating and thanking the employees who help care for the trees. I find that all very admirable but however, I do not know if I would support or fund this project as I believe there are better more effective ways in getting support and word out about saving and protecting our nature and trees. By dancing under the tree allowing people to attend these performances seem more of a publicity show for the dance team rather than awareness for the forests. However, this is just all my opinion but I do admire their willingness and creativity but this was a project that I didn’t like too much. 
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1140543784/the-trees-of-govalle-forklift-danceworks/widget/video.html

The second category I chose was food because everyone just loves food! Also, I thought it would be interesting to see what kind of projects would be out there about food. The ideas were endless for all these food projects and I was mesmerized by how much support every idea had. I thought that it must be pretty cool to see how much support and love you can receive as people want to see your ideas created as much as you do too. The first project I saw on the page was the one I fell in love with as quickly as I set my eyes upon it. The project is called Build Austin A Blue Cat Cafe with Rescued & Adoptable Cats! Basically the name states the exact purpose of this project. I think this project is beneficial to humans as well as for these cats. This cafe plans to house abandoned, lost, or rescued cats in hopes of people who attend the cafe to adopt them into a warm and loving home. The cafe plans to not only have cats around for people to play and interact with, but also “we will partner with local cat rescues, small businesses, artists, musicians, and food trucks to reflect the city’s fun, creative, and animal loving nature”. That’s really the best thing ever, to have cats all around, with good food, music, and just a chill place to relax and hang out. I think its a wonderful idea as people can hang out while also helping save a kitty by increasing their chances of getting adopted. All in all, it’s basically just like any regular cafe but with the extra addition of cats all around.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/thebluecatcafe/build-austin-a-blue-cat-cafe-with-rescued-and-adop/widget/video.html

Finally, the last project I came across that I didn’t really like would be Old World Confections. Their project states that “making treats can be tough. Through the power of YouTube we can show the world how to do it at home”. Therefore, the main purpose in this project would be to show how to make confections at home through YouTube. “Chocolates, candies, caramels and many baked goods are considered confections. Plain and simply, they are food items that are rich in sugar and carbohydrates”. However what I don’t like about this project is I don’t see much point in funding this project as on YouTube, there are so many tutorials on how to make just about anything. Therefore, it would be a waste of money to help fund this project as it is nothing out of the ordinary. They state how their videos would be different in that they would have “step by step instructions and explanations of what could go wrong at certain stages. We will explain how things react to various factors. Our videos will be built to help one overcome any issues without having to ask why or how it happened”. Honestly, just reading that quote from their information page, it doesn’t win me over as I still feel that anyone could find a cooking tutorial anywhere online and also doing so for free. In my opinion, there isn’t much need to fund this project and this is not one I liked and wouldn’t support.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/948367200/old-world-confections/widget/video.html

Leave a Reply

