Wk 15: Student Interview

 

Hello WordPress! Sad sad news has arrived.. this will be the last week of my student and artist interviews. I’m quite sad that this tradition has come to an end. Looking through my old works, there’s so many memories involved and I just can’t believe it has all finally come down to a close. Here’s my very last Art 110 student interview of this week of week 15!

Her name is Randa Jaber! She was so kinda and approachable as she came up to me and asked me to do an interview. Her voice is very soft and soothing. She is a sophomore here at CSULB and her major is civil engineering. She wanted a major where she would be done with college within four to five years total. Also, her reasoning for civil engineering is because she likes and is really good at math and science. I thought that was pretty great and I wish I could be more like her. I like meeting girls who do engineering since it’s not super common. I give major props to the girls who want to major and find a career in the field of engineering. After college, Randa hopes to go into a transportation company because her dad currently works for a transportation company as well. 

Randa commutes from Downey which is about 20-30 minutes away from CSULB. She really likes it here at CSULB and it was her first choice for college. She shared with me how a lot of her friends from high school also made the decision of choosing CSULB as the college of their choice. Therefore, she wanted to stay amongst her friends which is why she didn’t really bother applying to any other UCs. Here on campus to go along with her major, she joined a club known as the Society of Women Engineers. I thought this was really cool and a good choice for her especially since she can make friends who have similar majors. Also, perhaps make connections for the real world and such and it’s great to see a club dedicated for Women Engineers because I think more females should definitely get interested in the field of engineering. Randa shared with me though that she has class during the meeting times so she hasn’t been going too often. She hasn’t made any friends in the club yet because she can’t make it to the meetings but she plans to attend next semester more frequently.

I’m glad to have met Randa and gotten to know her more. It was a great experience interviewing my classmates in Art 110. I was super scared about doing this in the beginning of the semester but now, I’m really going to miss it. It was definitely a great way to step out of my comfort zone and meet new people who I recognize and talk to around campus now. 

Leave a Reply

