OTblog ch. 3

lim·bo

/ˈlimbō/
an uncertain period of awaiting a decision or resolution; an intermediate state or condition.

Smiling on the outside, crying on the inside. I never truly resonated with that phrase until now.

COVID hit at the worst time I can possibly imagine for me as a graduate student. Speaking from just a student viewpoint I’m honestly heartbroken and uncertain and lost. My school is decently well-known with adequate number of connections. I haven’t heard alumni complain about receiving fieldwork placements, but until COVID occurred, more than half my cohort and I are stuck in limbo.

To share a little information about how my program works, we complete our didactic courses within 2 years. Following that, we are placed in 2 separate fieldwork settings for 12 weeks each, otherwise known as Level II Fieldwork. It is during these weeks where we apply all knowledge and clinical skills and judgement as we work hands-on with patients. Needless to say, these 24 weeks are very crucial to our learning as well as taking necessary steps to graduate and apply for our national board licensing exam.

With only about 1 month and 2 weeks left before the start of fieldwork, I still have yet to receive word as to where I will be placed, or even if I am placed at a location. COVID threw such a wrench into the healthcare system leaving us students struggling to be accepted into facilities since many have decided to close their doors on accepting students due to high risks.

I want to scream out anger, I want to cry in frustration. As a Type A personality, I dislike uncertainty and I thrive on plans and preparedness. Perhaps this is life’s way to remind me to expect the unexpected, and accept what may come. To teach me there’s so much in life I absolutely cannot plan for and to do my best by staying positive and being proactive. I don’t know. I’m not going to lie, it’s hard to have that mindset right now especially when hearing my future timeline will continually be pushed further back and back.

As of right now, it’s hard to remain motivated in classes and conversations as I’m constantly thinking about when will I receive FW placement. The main solitude I have found would be within my friends in my cohort. Probably some of the only people who can truly understand what I’m going through and share some empathy amongst one another. However, complaining doesn’t get you far and it’s still hard work, passion, and dedication that will lift me out of this pity party of mine lol. So I’ll do my best to be proactive and network for sites, and pray hard to keep a positive mindset that things will work out. Or that I can embrace whatever may happen to be the best choice for me. More updates to come once I find out my future. Anyone other OT students out there feeling the same struggle and pain I am? Please share and reach out to me!! And anyone who knows of connections in the LA area of occupational therapists who are accepting students, please share with me as well! It would be so so greatly appreciated.

♡, candiceocheung

P.S. I’m starting NBCOT board prep too, so I’ll be sharing my journey with tips and techniques I too am gathering along the way, stay tuned!

 

 

 

Leave a comment