OTblog ch.1

Hi all! I wanted to start a blog on my journey through occupational therapy school. Just a place where I can type out my thoughts, emotions, and academia gained throughout the journey. Follow along with me through my 2.75 years.

Summer Quarter ’18
My first course that I went through this summer of 2018 was anatomy. I went through anatomy for my pre-requisite checklist but this class was on another level. Monday-Friday 8am-5pm, lab practicals and class exams each Friday. It was brutal and it was intense. I think one of the first memories I recall about this course was when my OT cohort gathered together on the first day of anatomy class, and our faculty were going through Q&As. The main comment that stuck in my head was “anatomy class is to weed us out”. I honestly couldn’t get that out of my head, because despite our faculty assuring us this class wasn’t meant to “weed us out”, I couldn’t help but feel like it was. If we received below an 81%, we were cut from the program. The program that we spent hours on for applications, months in volunteering, and years of preparation for the acceptance.

Anatomy really tested me as a student and as a friend. We were all meeting each other for the first time. It was first year PTs combined with us first year OTs. Friendship circles were made, study groups were planned out. We learned more about each other in those 7 weeks faster than I ever met my friends in undergraduate. We learned each member’s study habits, strengths and weaknesses, and how we each handled stress. I found out that I often started freaking and stressing out towards the beginning of the week versus some felt the stress mount by the end of the week. I found strong study partners, and those who kept me grounded and calm. I was thankful to find some who could handle my panic-annoyed filled self. Anatomy bonded us all. We survived those hell weeks lol. It had its negatives, but it had its amazing positives. I loved meeting our lab TAs which were second year OTs and PTs. Meeting these TAs who were in our shoes just a year ago really helped with empathizing with us and helping us in surviving this course. (shout-out to our cute little gifts from our TAs each week which really helped to brighten my spirits) I enjoyed studying from cadavers which I thought was an amazing experience. Thankful for all the amazing people who donated their bodies for our learning benefit.

Heading into my first few classes of occupational therapy, I didn’t know what to expect. We didn’t have preparation courses in undergraduate so it was eye-opening. We focused on the mission behind our program, our career, service learning, and the history that holds up occupational therapy. We also went through activity analysis course that taught us how to break down movements and modify/adjust/grade activities. For me, it truly reminded me of how grateful I am to have had a normal development. OT really challenges me to remind myself of how blessed I am and how I take simple acts for granted. Having the ability to subconsciously tie my shoes, brush my teeth, and put on my clothes speak volume to how capable and functional we all are. Next time you get ready for bed, think about each step you take to brush your teeth. OTs have patients and clients who may struggle with these such steps. Be thankful for your healthy functional joints and limbs!

Personal Growth
I think graduate school has really tested myself as an individual when it came to the social aspect of everything. In undergrad, I never had the same classmates due to a large major. Now being in a cohort, I see the same students each day. I was really fearful starting in school. I have a fear of making friends, being a loner, and I do admit to having a bit of FOMO. It was scary opening up to so many people and finding out where/how do I fit in. I was scared about what others thought of me, if I came on too strong, if I was disliked by others. I am thankful for my cohort that I’ve gotten to know throughout these few months. I feel that we are all so unique and destined to be incredible OTs. I see strengths in so many of them that I hope to learn from and improve in myself. I still find myself in awkwardness and in a sense of limbo at times with my classmates, but I feel like it improves with time and with confidence within myself. I’m excited for the following years with my cohort, as I feel that our bond will stay with us beyond the classroom doors here at LLU.

Focusing on self-worth was a big topic as I felt that I was defined by my scores and my grades. Despite making it into graduate school, I still had a sense of panic whenever receiving my scores back. I felt that I let the grade define me and it would reflect upon my thoughts of myself. Scoring negatively led to thoughts of “I wasn’t good enough. I’m going to fail. How did I even make it into school? Is this even the right path for you?”. It was hard. It was a struggle. But speaking with fellow cohort mates as well as my separate friends, it was through time, honest conversations where I really began to let go and love myself and recognize my self-worth. It’s not rooted in grades or my performance but rather in myself, who I am, who I want to be. I really encourage that for everyone who struggles with doubt, which I’m sure is at least a little bit in all of us. I remember a strong line from chapel in that, especially those of us in health care strive to heal others. But we can only heal others by healing ourselves first. Learn to receive healing, to give healing.

Heading into next week with three midterms…
Mental health awareness check-in from candiceocheung currently at: stressed but thankful 

Thanks for reading my long post and for following along my journey. More to come! xoxo

♡, candiceocheung

Leave a comment